In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, neighbourhood stores are increasingly closed due to the impact of globalisation, and people's growing interested in doing their shopping at big malls. In my opinion, despite the closure of small stores, the impact of people doing business at large stores is positive because it saves money and effort for the people and benefits the government immensely. To begin with, shopping at malls presents the customers with lots of benefits. Firstly, they get to buy things at a low cost when compared to the traditional standalone stores, which is feasible because, the big stores cut the cost by eliminating the middlemen between a store and a manufacturer. For example, retail chains like Sam's Club, operate with the motto "Save money, Live better" and pass on the benefits of low cost to their customers. Thus, shopping malls encourage people to shop in their stores and save their hard earned cash. Secondly, with supermarkets offering a wide range of home need products, customers get all their needs under one roof, saving them a tremendous amount of time and energy. Moreover, malls entertain their customers by organizing a variety of fun and leisure within their premises. Consequently, families plan their shopping activities in such a way that they complete the shopping and at the same moment get entertained. For instance, all major malls have cinema halls inside their campus to encourage their customers more time there. Therefore, people spend less time in travel by avoiding the necessity to move from one location to the other. Finally, shopping at big stores benefits the state in various ways. With the organized retail sector, tax collection becomes easy for the government, which is not the case with small shops who dodge paying their taxes properly. Furthermore, bigger malls provide more job to their communities. To illustrate this, a recent study on shopping malls, shows that, employment opportunities increase by 15% in a community whenever a new mall opens. Hence, is clear that shopping in malls benefits all the stakeholders in society. To conclude, it is evident that people and the government gain immensely from shopping in bigger malls than in standalone stores. The state should encourage the small store owners to extend their personalised services in the malls.