Some people say that government should not put money on building theatres and sports stadiums.Others argue that they should spend more money on medical care and education.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The government should not waste capital on promoting the arts and sports culture in a country, according to few. While there are many who argue that this extra money should rather be spent on facilities like health and studies. In my opinion, although a major proportion of the resources should be reserved for the welfare projects, but it should not be at the cost of cutting finances to the arts and sports. On the one hand, many consider that diverting the resources to theatres and playgrounds is a sheer waste of the tax payers money. They argue that building museums and sports club is not that necessary in the face of financial crises that many countries of the world are going through. This seems logical, particularly in the developing countries where people are not having an access to the safe drinking water and are starving to death due to food shortages. Hence, spending on the arts is the waste of a country's much needed capital. On the other hand, many are of the view that the governments should put extra resources in the well-being projects like health system and schooling. It is needless to say that medical facilities and literacy form the backbone of a society and, hence, warrants funding. For instance, the recent COVID 19 pandemic has exhausted the medical facilities of the developed countries even. Under such circumstances, if resources are not diverted to replenish these medical reserves, it equals in amount to let people die without getting the treatment. Thus, highlighting the importance of medical facilities that deserve an extensive funding. Finally, in my view, spending all the capital on welfare measures including that reserved for the sports and arts might succumb later to death. In other words, stopping all the fundings on the arts and sports projects which are often not capable of self-sustaining, may result in nations loosing their identities and youth deprived of their cultural values. Likewise, diversion of a major chunk of the financial reserves to support the medical facilities and learning is self-explanatory. As an uneducated youth will only bring more economical and financial crises. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, but I strongly believe that a major portion of the finances should be allocated to welfare projects like health and education. But it should not result in squeezing the fundings for the arts and sports resulting in their abolishment.