Why do we need to prevent the extinction of some animals like dinosaurs and dodos if it is caused by natural processes? What is your opinion about this?

With the help of palaeontologists, all around the globe, these past few centuries, we have made incredible discoveries about creatures that existed before us. But a trend of natural mass extinctions has been recorded. Nowadays we have the technology in order to avert these, but what will this offer to our planet? In my opinion, there are multiple drawbacks if we do not try and prevent these situations and in this essay I will explain why. Firstly, our planet consists of hundreds of thousand different species, which all play a vital role in sustaining our ecosystems alive. By preventing their extinction, we prolong our biosphere’s lifespan and make it more stable. To illustrate, a study carried out by the Global Animal Care Service, showed that with averting one extinction, we give our ecosystem 2 more years of life. Finally, we make sure that our globe’s diversity does not get debased. Also, the value of our biosphere’s diversity is essential for our well being. To explain, by sustaining all the different species, we give ourselves a wider range of animals to consume, which in the long run, equals to a larger variety of nutrients in our diet. For example, Joe Bauer, a famous nutritionist, illustrated in a Ted-x show, in 2009, that people living in ecosystems with a larger variety of animals have a 20% richer diet than others. Lastly, this variety in species, is a magnificent phenomenon on planet earth, that possibly only exist here, so we must protect it giving our descendants the opportunity to experience this in the future. In conclusion, we have to protect all living creatures on our world. It’s my firm belief that governments should support organizations that everyday are trying to prevent these disastrous developments.