Some people say history is one of the most important school subject. othe people believe that in todays world , subjects like science and technology are more more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that children ought to be taught history in schools while others believe subjects like science and technology are much more important subjects. In my opinion, the field of science and technology can improve future employment opportunities of students so emphasis should be on these subjects. According to some people, the subject of history taught to the students at schools can help them learn important achievements of our ancestors. The fact that our forefathers survived a difficult pre industrial era can be motivating for the young children. In other words, when students are going through a rough patch in their lives and feel demoralised, the past examples of historical heroes can prove a guiding light for them. Moreover, if history is taught to students at a very early stage, they will be well conversant with facts on how minute differences between nations resulted in eruption of war between the countries. These wars resulted in loss of precious lives. Hence, this historical knowledge can be valuable information for them as they will be the future leaders and decision makers in the country. Therefore, they will follow the guidelines of peace and world can become a safer place to live. On the other hand, another group of people believe and I agree that science and technology should be the top priority subjects as it will ensure future jobs for the students. In other words, the main aim of going to schools for children is to get a secure job as they will be the future breadwinners of the family. In the modern era of technological advancements, employment opportunities are mostly for the science graduates while students learning history only get jobs of teacher which are limited. Moreover, the subjects of science and technology inculcates research habits in a child, which can be helpful for them when they enter practical life. The latest inventions of computer and the recent advancements in medicine. Which have resulted in cure of various ailments were possible when students studied and did research in science. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, in todays world of fierce competition for jobs in the market and technology advancements students stand a better chance if they study science and technology as main subjects rather than history.