Some people say in all levels of English from primary schools to universities tomuch time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays education in Russia is stuck with an existential problem about benefits of practical skills in compare with theoretical knowledge. Having studied in university, I cannot ignore the fact that I felt lack of practical experience, when I started my career. But, as for me, both sides of education process are important, and should be given in balance. It’s true that the theoretical education is a basement of the real knowledge. Working hard, sometimes you cannot pay a proper attention to self- education, and you have to waste more and more time to, like Alice in Wonderland, just staying on place. As a result, you might miss some well-known facts. Moreover, sometimes it’s difficult to achieve a strong and systematic point of view for a curious problem, while teachers from primary schools up to university could provide you with a working model of the issue structure, which, possibly, is applicable to solve that. Unfortunately, it’s difficult disagree with the fact, that education in Russia struggles with challenging problems. From my point of view the major one relates with teachers. Sometimes, the teachers don’t know about modern changes in science. Although the theoretical education is important, the education without practical is like a car’s engine without wheels, it’s useless. Furthermore, having worked as “in a field” for year or two in a parallel for university, student can get practical wisdom in addition to theoretical skills. To summarize, both practical and theoretical side of education are important. In one hand, good theory allows you to distinguish a correct solution when you don’t have an experience. But in other hand, sometimes you can waste a month to resolve an issue, which has been solved dozen and dozen times by another people. Only having both knowledge and skills, you can achieve a seniority in your sphere of interest.