Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides.

Few people consider that schools must teach children to be competitive in nature. However, some reckon that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete, advance to more useful adults. In my opinion competition is necessary as it helps in providing, children the most important skills for their future. There are many advantages of encouraging students to be competitive at school. In other words, children who compete against each other in school often do better in school. For example, the competitiveness between students, motivate them to excel in their studies. Consequently, this healthy competition produces better academic performance and results. Furthermore, it is believed to help achieve success later in life when they must compete against others in the job market. On the other hand, children also need to cooperate with others. In other words, society is not a platform for a single person. But it is a huge family that contains everyone’s contributions and opinions. For instance, marketing, sports and film making needs a variety of people in order to make them run properly. Hence, children need to be taught how to cooperate and communicate with other people as they will need in the later future. In conclusion, while opinions of people may vary, I believe a sense of competition in children can offer support in shaping them as successful adults.