Water pollution has become an increasing problem over the past few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Water is one of the necessities of every living being on earth, and it is impossible to imagine life without it. The news of rising pollution in water bodies has become a major issue in the past few years, which is making it difficult to sustain not only animals but also people. The discussion behind its causes and prevention will be elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs. The chief cause behind this crisis is the exponential growth in population and the increasing demand and need to maintain the lifestyle. The citizens' desire to lead a better life with excessive usage to follow the trend and the ignorant attitude to maintain the standard of the environment is why nature is deteriorating. To exemplify, the Textile industry has been one of the significant contributors to damaging climate. Almost 85% of clothes are dumped into rivers, and this further generates microfibres which lead to the death of aquatic animals, not only this, it also poses a threat to human life, because contaminated water from rivers is also used for irrigation. Moreover, speaking of the trend, plastic products are non-biodegradable, so their use for a prolonged period has steadily decreased the quality of water, along with this, other causes, such as medicinal waste, household waste and oil spills also made the water poisonous. To justify, every year, people in India, after religious ceremonies, people discard idols into water. Lack of knowledge and awareness has affected the overall water system. However, a plethora of ways can be adopted to improve the water quality. First, reduce the use of plastic and instead use bags made out of clothes, because plastics are hazardous for many water animals, they think it to be food and subsequently die by getting choked. Next, individuals must refrain from chucking the remains of medicines or any perilous household materials into the toilet. Therefore, it is possible to combat this challenge if both the commoners and prominent people come together and take the necessary steps. To conclude, growing lifestyle along with the needs and demands, heaps of waste is generated and all of them are dumped into water bodies. Contributing to lowering the quality of water, increasing disease and harming water animals. However, if the citizens undertake preventive measures like reducing plastic usage and stopping themselves from discarding harmful materials, pollution in water can be ignored.