It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them with this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children?

Although parents have many challenges to deal with in their paternal journey with their children, nothing is more important than teaching them the appropriate ethical principles. Nowadays, there is a debate on the importance of disciplinary actions in raising up youngsters, and which of them are permitted to be applied by fathers, mothers, and teachers. If I had my decision, I would say that punishment is an essential element in that process; however, it should not include any kind of physical violence. As a matter of fact, teaching young people the correct behaviour at the beginning of their life helps them to grow up with sets of good manners. Youngsters are gifted with their fresh mind that can be easily formed and moulded, and the values which they learn in their first years remain along with them all over their life. In addition to this interesting point, good and bad behaviours have always been crucial family values to be learned. Moreover, imposing strict family rules on the application of these attitudes with some sorts of punishment could be healthy. This can be for several reasons, firstly, it promotes the sense of responsibility; if a child is aware that he will be punished for making a mistake, he will think twice before committing it. A second point is that it provides several life lessons such as accountability and respect. Although punishment could be beneficial, only limited methods can be used to deter and teach our young people, and it must be used only when there is an extreme need for it. One of these measures is to deduct from their pocket money or stop it for a few days. Another way could be preventing them from using the video games that they like, which is something they cannot tolerate for a long time, so it should be effective. In conclusion, I would say that raising up small children on the accepted behaviours as early as possible could make it more feasible and applicable, however, in certain circumstances, a bit of measures are to be implemented to ensure that they are being followed.