The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause problem to their countries, others believe this group is important to the society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that in some countries, the population of older people is increasing day by day. While some people believe that this will negatively impact these countries, I would argue that the older generation would be beneficial for the society. Those who believe that more elderly people will be a problem argue that this might impact the economy of that nation. This is because over the age, the work efficiency of individuals decline which would affect the productivity of the organisation for which they work. A study conducted showed that approximately 65% of individuals are prone to suffer from memory loss and hearing problems after the age of 55. Moreover, the increase in number of oldies would overburden the health sector of that nation as individuals have lesser immunity and more susceptible to diseases in this age. On the other hand, I opine that these oldsters are experienced and veteran in their sectors. To be precise, they have worked for ages, which makes them expert in their fields and thus they are beneficial for their companies. For example, most of the companies designate higher positions to their elderly staff due to their vast amount of experience and problem-solving skills. If there are no veterans in organisations, then who would handle the situation at the time of crisis? Furthermore, elders at home help in inculcating social values and good habits in children, and therefore, they are important for both families and societies. In conclusion, although older people have lesser working capacities and more health issues, they are significant for the country's growth. I believe that their experience and expertise would help the society in solving various issues, whether they are social, financial or economic.