In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of the doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In the modern United States of America, it has become common for some states to implement laws which make it illegal for teenagers to stay outside of their homes during the night time, unless an adult is present with them. The discussion of whether this 'curfew' has positive or negative impacts has therefore been raised. Personally, I am strongly in support of this rule and urge all people to abide by it. Firstly, adolescents, when alone, are often easily persuaded to join gangs and work under drug lords to perform criminal activity. As a result of their inability to make rational decisions, teenagers get trapped into the vicious circle of crime. For example, a survey by the FBI indicates that people belonging to the age group of 12-18 are more likely to commit crime. Moreover, without an adult's supervision, it is unsafe for teenagers being out at night as it makes them potential victims of theft, rape and murder. As most crimes are committed in the dark, this law ensures the safety of US teenagers. For instance, when I was 13 years old, I was afraid of visiting my friend in the neighbourhood without being accompanied by my father. On the other hand, this curfew prevents teenagers from exercising their right to freedom. According to the US constitution, all citizens have the legal right to their freedom, which gets curbed when some states do not allow teenagers to go out alone at night. In conclusion, I believe that although the curfew curbs the freedom of teenagers, it is a small price to pay for their own safety and protection.