Countries should spend money on trains rather than new roads. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, some countries decided to invest vast of their resources to improve their railways such as railway stations rather than construct and create new streets and bridges to reduce traffic jams. I believe that invest money to purchase new trains and develop the old one is most important. Due to different reasons such as it is faster and more environmentally friendly. To begin with, trains are faster than any other ways of transportation. The reason for this is that, there is no traffic congestion, and trains can go through higher maximum speed with limited stops. As a result, the time consumed to travel between cities is low when compared with travelling by cars or buses. In Egypt, for example, the journey between Cairo the capital of Egypt and Alex in the north of Egypt it takes around two hours which is faster than travel by cars. In Addition to this, trains are considered environmentally friendly. This is due to the amount of Carbon dioxide emission produce is low, which is trapping heat from the sun, and causes the greenhouse effect. Moreover, it reduces the global warming phenomena. In the UK, for instance, the Metro system has become more popular nowadays, which are connected between different places in the main city. However, Metro systems and trains are often dirty and crowded it can be fast and cheap. In conclusion, I personally agree with the idea that the governments should invest and develop the trains in order to reduce the negative effect of using cars and buses in the main cities.