The purpose of businesses is to make money and they should concentrate only on this. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that businesses should revolve around financial goals only. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because it might detract from the employees ' optimal performance and lower the enterprise's reputation. The primary reason to object to the sole focus of making profits is that such a shallow mindset can exhaust the business' workforce by forcing them to work excessively to achieve certain financial KPIs. This is because when the company prioritizes its profits over the employees ' happiness and personal growth, it might result in work dissatisfaction, which definitely lowers needed devotion and productivity. For example, in 2022, it was reported that a footwear company in Ho Chi Minh City made its workers work overtime excessively within 2 months in order to make up the loss caused by the COVID pandemic, but that only ended up in chaos when many employees went on strikes to protest the policy. The second reason why businesses should not consider money as their sole purpose is that it may bring down their reputation. In other words, the more businesses join hands to solve practical issues in their community, the higher reputation they will get, and this will in turn better support their commercial activities. For instance, the electronics giant Sony has included community social responsibilities through specific campaigns or activities such as teaching disadvantaged children photography skills or donating computers to schools in rural areas as a crucial part of their strategic marketing plan, which yielded impressive results in enhancing brand awareness while contributing significantly to the community. In conclusion, while making profits is of paramount importance to businesses, it should be made the sole purpose as it could deplete the employees ' contribution to the company and negatively affect their reputation.