Sports programmes are hugely popular on television nowadays. But some people argue that these programmes are to blame for the poor health of many young people who prefer to watch rather than part take in physical activity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, there is an opinion that due to sports programmes, such as soccer matches and mixed martial arts, many youngsters are becoming couch potatoes. The reason of this is many individuals are willing to watch sports events, rather than taking part in sports competitions. There is no denying that worldwide popular types of sports, such as boxing and soccer, are attracting people's attention across the world. The number of fans, who is talking about popular sports people and sports events, is increasing. However, the majority of supporters are not keen to take up some kind of sport activity. A good illustration of this is the fans of football. It is widely known that around 2.5 billion people are keen to watch this type of sport activity, but never played by themselves. As a result, football is the main cause of the sedentary lifestyle of many supporters. On the other hand, others people feel that if the individuals, watch such kinds of events, they get familiar with sport activities. As a result, they can take up, work out or exercises by themselves. To illustrate, many youngsters claimed that they are willing to start exercising, because of sports people, who they believe a good one. Consequently, it helps people to get fit and lose weight. In conclusion, although many individuals are keen to think that sports events are not beneficial for the youngsters, because it will confuse them, others believe that being fans of sports can be useful for the fans.