Some parents spend little free time with their children today. Why is this? Who do you think this affects more, parents or children?

Nowadays, parents often do not spend much of their free time with their children. This can be attributed to their increasingly demanding professional lives and changing lifestyles. In my opinion, I think that this trend impacts children negatively to a much larger extent than their parents. There is a combination of reasons as to why parents are unable to spend time with their children. Firstly, it is becoming increasingly popular for both parents to be working these days. In addition, they work longer hours and often bring their work home with them, furthermore, their commutes from the work are longer. Consequently, they do not have enough time to spend with their children, even when they do, they are so tired and stressed out, they seldom want to bond and engage with their children. Secondly, current lifestyle promotes a more individualistic way of living, as a result, parents believe it is a good idea to give space to their children and thus, may not spend time with them because of it as well. This growing societal trend of lack of time spent together by families, definitely has a far greater impact on the children as compared to their parents, and this is true especially for younger children. Since they need the attention, time, care and love of their parents for a healthy development of mind, body and soul. To illustrate, studies have shown that children who have both parents present during their formative years, end up doing far better in school, as well as adults in work. Not spending quality time with their parents can lead to a sense of loneliness and isolation, therefore, making children feel less loved, which can hamper their emotional growth and if not addressed can even cause long term mental issues. In conclusion, lack of bonding and attention from their parents due to challenging work life can pose some serious problems for the children.