In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is true that the conduct of school pupils has been declining in certain parts of the world in recent years. While there is a range of possible reasons for this, several measures exist to solve the issue. In my opinion, bad classroom behaviour can be attributed to three main factors. Firstly, parents nowadays are often too busy to fully attend to the needs of their child. Craving attention, many children take out their frustration by disrupting the class, which results in conflict with either the teacher or fellow classmates. Secondly, teacher behaviour is crucial to maintaining a well-functioning class. Educators with bad attitudes or poor classroom management may distance themselves from their students causing the class to rebel and disrespect the teacher. Finally, in schools with overcrowded classrooms, bad lighting and uncomfortable chairs, students are expected to sit for long periods and listen to the teacher. An uneasy learning environment results in an uneasy class and may cause fighting between the school children. However, there are several solutions to improve how students behave. Good communication between schools and parents is imperative. It is important that schools persuade parents to establish clear codes of conduct with clear punishments if their offspring step out of line. In addition, professional training and regular assessments at school can improve teaching standards and motivate students and reduce disruptions. Questionnaires given to students could further be used to assess class satisfaction during class time. Meanwhile, schools should invest in producing bright, airy classrooms with small class sizes in which students wish to spend the better part of their day studying. In conclusion, effective rule setting, good role models and a motivating classroom environment are essential for students if disciplinary problems are to be avoided in the future.