Are electric cars a replacement for those powered by fossil fuels?

Twenty years ago, if you went to university in the UK, all of your tuition fees were paid for by the government. Now, however, you have to pay for them yourself. There is currently a lot of debate about which of these two situations is better. What is more, there are no straightforward answers. In an ideal world, all education would be free, including tertiary education. Nevertheless, the fact of the matter is that we do not live in an ideal world and there is not an unlimited supply of money. In addition to this, the more money the government spends, the more it taxes its citizens, and the less money they have. On the other hand, it could be argued that in a modern democratic society, citizens have some basic rights. For example, many people would agree that universal free healthcare is a basic right: no one should go without medical attention because they can’t afford it. Likewise, a significant number of people also think university fees should be free of charge. After all, they maintain, if healthcare is free, why shouldn’t university be free, too? In my own view, university tuition fees should not be totally free. If they are, many people will go to university just because they don’t know what to do after secondary school. Obviously, this is not the purpose of going to university. At the same time, fees should not be so expensive that they put off people from poor families from carrying on with their studies. Consequently, the best solution would be for the government to subsidise tuition fees, but not to pay for them entirely.