Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is true that we are increasingly surrounded by companies' advertisements that want to sell us their products. To some extent, I agree that all companies should have the right to advertise their products because of the positive impact of advertising on people's life and society, but I would argue that the methods used by some companies are not moral and courteous. There are several reasons why all companies should have the right to advertise in the free market economy. Firstly, advertising is the key part of modern business because companies want to tell us about their products, so they can sell their goods. Secondly, advertising is a creative industry that can employ many people. It can ease unemployment problems by generating more employment opportunities. While without advertising facilities there would be a higher rate of unemployment. Finally, advertising is a good resource for information about the choices we have. It increases the awareness of different products and special offers related to products that help people to save money by informing them about real bargains. On the other hand, some companies use unethical and unacceptable methods in their advertisements. For example, companies advertise their services and goods via sending SMS which sometimes people are charged unwillingly for them. Furthermore, some companies often aim their marketing at children. As a result, children can be easily influenced by advertising and then put pressure on their parents to buy them by pestering and nagging. Moreover, other companies advertise harmful products such as cigarettes, junk food, and alcoholic drinks that cause some health issues like obesity and heart and lung disease. Therefore, some people believe that this way of advertising is really immoral and should be controlled by governments. In conclusion, even though, allowing all companies to advertise has a positive impact on the free-market economy. I believe that governments should take action to censor immoral and unethical methods used in advertising and should warn companies.