Write an essay of 250 words on the topic below. Plastic is useful, but can also damage the environment. How can people reduce the amount of plastic they use in their day-to-day life? Discuss vour ideas and support them with reasons and examples.

It is certainly true that, nowadays many people depend on Plastic products like bags, glasses, straws or boxes. However, not all the effects of this innovation have been positive, although, it has certainly some advantages. In this essay, I will provide some of the ways that individuals and governments can take to improve the situation. People can reduce the amount of plastic they use in their daily lives by doing the following. Firstly people can use reusable shopping bags instead of plastic bags when they go shopping, furthermore, they can use paper bags instead of bags that are made of plastic. For instance, most supermarkets provide tea and other drinks with paper glasses instead of plastic ones. Secondly, people can choose metal or paper straws instead of plastic straws, moreover, individuals can support companies that use environmentally friendly packaging. Governments on the other side have a vital role in reducing plastic usage. Firstly, governments can put laws and rules to ban some plastic products like plastic glasses, for instance, the ABU DHABI government put a law to replace all plastic cups with paper cups. Secondly, governments can hold meetings and TV programmes as advertisements to spread awareness about reducing the usage of plastic products, furthermore, they can organise some events like community clean-up events to remove existing plastic from the environment. In conclusion, both individuals and governments have a vital role in reducing the usage of plastic by replacing plastic products, and putting rules to ensure that plastic products are replaced. Finally, organise some events that support this idea.