Today there are a great number of advertisements. How do advertisements affect consumers? What can the government do to protect consumers from the negative impact of advertising?

As competition among companies becomes fiercer, consumers today may find themselves bombarded with a barrage of advertisements from businesses trying to promote their products the general public. In this essay, I will demonstrate how excessive exposure to commercials may trigger impulse buying before suggesting some of the ways in which governments can mitigate the detrimental impacts of advertising.  The negative influences that advertisements could exert on people are definite. The allure of the vivid graphics and images often found in adverts may sway customers to purchase the products being promoted, even when they have no real need for them. This is reinforced by celebrity endorsements, which usually have a considerable influence on people wanting to imitate their idols. As a consequence, people who watch too many advertisements generally end up with items that they may eventually have to discard, resulting in a waste of money. The iPhone covers being sold in Vietnam perfectly exemplify this situation. Their advertisements, which feature prominent pop stars, can be found on the side panels of most websites in Vietnam. People who visit these pages often cannon resist the urge to replace their phone covers with the latest models and waste money on a product that would be of little value to them.  In order to help consumers make more informed purchasing decisions, governments can implement some of the following solutions. First and foremost, they need to exercise censorship on all types of advertising. The rigorous content check must be carried out prior to the publication of an advertisement to ensure the description of a product accurately reflects its actual quality. In addition, there should be a limit on the number of platforms on which company is permitted to market their products. This would effectively safeguard consumers against information overload and help them avoid making wasteful purchases.  In conclusion, people who view too many advertisements may be lured into buying unnecessary things, and the proposed steps should be taken to mitigate this influence of advertising.