Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Exercise is the key to live a healthy lifestyle as per eminent doctors. Despite this, old generations’ people always not take workout seriously and always shun from it. I believe that having a fear of getting injured stop them to do it, it can be solved by some possible steps. Firstly, old youth people abstains from exercise due to fear of injury as they do want to face any problem in their later age, as it is a well-known fact that the during the old age, the human body got weaker. If in this age, body sustains from any injuries, it will take months to get recovered. Hence old generations deter them from exercise. To set an example, my grandfather got a major ankle ’ twist during the evening walk and due to that he had to use a wheel chair for 2 months and he is now afraid of exercise. To solve this problem, since exercise provides uncountable benefits to the health. It is important for the elderly to overcome this fear of injury; to do this family should help them. Instead of doing heavy exercise, they should be taught light form of exercises. Such as yoga and stable cycling at home. These exercises do not push more stress on old person's muscles. They should also use protective gears like the helmet and knee-cap while exercises. For instance - According to recent research on health in Canada, 85% older people prefer to do household chores as a means of exercises to keep them fit because this activity do not need more force and also promote joint power. To conclude- seniors are reluctant to exercise due to fear of injury. However, this can be avoided to a great extent by wearing and exercise gears and encourages them to do light exercise.