Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

It is widely admitted that the freedom of speech is a core part oh human rights. Nowadays, freedom of speech plays a major role in many aspects of modernised countries’ life and have political implementation. As a result, some people believe that freedom of speech is mandatory for a free society. This essay is going to analyse this dilemma using supporting arguments. To begin with, freedom of speech helps the government to understand people’s wants. In other words, the state faces problems with budget allocation by industries, nevertheless, honest opinions of individuals could tackle some problems. Hence, this is one way for the government to assess public feelings and take action to build a brighter future. Regards to this fact, the state should encourage freedom of speech for a society, because it is not only beneficial, but also a mandatory for progress. However, freedom of speech cannot be absolute, as any other form of freedom. No one should have a right to say whatever they want, because it can provoke others and have certain damaging consequences. How American musician Cher said: “Words are weapons”. Regards to this quote, it could be clear that freedom of speech should have limits and law should protect person dignity. In addition, a society and the world could benefit from freedom of speech if forbidden it to use to humiliate other people. To conclude, as it mentioned earlier, while freedom of speech will be regulated and have limits, society will benefit. At the same time, it should be protected from too strong regulation, because in a free society everyone has a right to express opinion.