It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some governments of developed nations choose to engage in foreign affairs in different areas. Although some believe that people inside the country are the ones who need the most help from the governments, governments still cannot ignore people from the rest of the world. It is clear that many countries in the world still have not recognized fundamental human rights. First, citizens of those countries are deprived of their freedom and are oppressed in many inhumane ways. Many Vietnamese dissidents, for example, were sentenced to death by the Vietnamese authority, which could have been saved if the US government had tried to prevent that from happening. Second, since citizens of those countries are not armed and lack of negotiating power, they are unable to claim their democracy back. By using diplomatic pressure to negotiate the terms, the governments from developed nations allows citizens from overseas to influence their own governments in the policy-making process. It has been true in many cases that prolonged poverty cannot be solved without the assistance from foreign governments. One product of poverty is hunger, causing millions of deaths every year all around the world. If outside governments had stepped in and provided financial assistance, those lives would have been saved. In addition to financial support, governmental organizations can help provide the education and skills for those citizens. Plenty of evidence have suggested that the most effective way to overcome poverty is education. In conclusion, governments cannot ignore people living in distress from the rest of the world. By providing education and financial support, citizens around the world would be able to live a better life.