Some people hold that we should spend amount of time and money on the protection of wild animals. Some people argue that they should be spent on human populations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, it has become a controversial issue as to whether people should spend time and use expenditure on protecting wild animals or on the survival of humankind. In my perspective, it would be reasonable to allocate the resources in balance to benefit both the human and other species. First, it is widely recognized that human beings are superior to animals; therefore, many people believed money should be devoted to human needs like education, healthcare systems, and social welfare so as to foster the development of humankind societies. For example, as the United Nations reported, billions of people in remote areas may even lack access to clean drinking water, resulting in thousands of children are killed by diseases every year. If more budget was used for establishing sanitation service, this problem will to some extent alleviated. On the other hand, since wild animals can help us maintain the equilibrium between ecosystem and human life, the ecological crisis resulting from wildlife extinction shall definitely affect human survival. For instance, if the practice of whaling is not halted, the ecosystems of our oceans will be altered forever, negatively impacting the fish stocks on which so many communities depend for a living. Furthermore, protecting wild animals means protecting the habitats in which they live, namely rainforests and wetlands. Habitat destruction is not averted, leading to climate change will greatly affect our capacity to produce food to meet the demand of the growing human population. As a result, human beings will eventually suffer from starvation. Hence, we should be aware of the significance of protecting wild species and take actions to prevent the flora and fauna extinction happening. To conclude, we can not only focus on solving human beings problems and neglect the crucial roles that animals play in our human civilizations. Albeit that human benefits are always given the top priority, the government should still attach much importance to protect wildlife to maintain the ecological environment.