Some universities deduct students’ work if the assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

Some universities deduct students work if the assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions? There is no doubt that some universities deduct students ' work if their assignment is given late. Some people state that this regulation is beneficial to students ' study whereas others disagree. I strongly believe that deducting students ' work if the assignment is given late has a positive effect on their study. The reason why deducting students ' work if their assignment is overdue is beneficial to students is that it helps to improve students ' time management. Specifically, students are forced to be punctual in order to avoid the punishment, so students start to develop an awareness of time and punctuality. For example, I have enhanced my time management skills during my university time when I tried to avoid my school's restrict punishments on students ' work in terms of late submissions. As for the alternative action, universities should help students make a staged timetable for their assignments progress. This is reasonable because a staged timetable can remind them how much time they will need to complete their work, thus avoid missing deadlines. This can be supported by a recent report conducted by Oxford University that students who make a staged timetable for their work are 80% less likely to submit their assignments late compared to their classmates who do not. With all the points above, the conclusion can be drawn that deducting students ' work if assignment is given late is beneficial to students because it improves students' time management. In addition, an alternative action to avoid submitting assignments late is to make a staged timetable.