The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

At the present, ecosystem suffers from the change of environment and human disturbance including trash and waste from consumer goods. Therefore, most people sat that manufacture of goods provides direct damage to the natural environment. This essay describes the causes and possible solution to decline this impact. To begin with, most synthetic material such as plastic, nylon, and other polymers cannot be decomposed by scavenger and microorganism in the ecosystem. Thus, due to this property of the material, some sort of trash such as plastic bag and bottle will remain for more than thousand of years. However, even if these materials are unable to decompose, it can degrade into smaller pieces called microplastic, which can contaminate the soil or air. Moreover, microplastic can be absorbed by other organisms through the digestive system and blood vessel, which is a major cause of various diseases including cancer in human. According to a survey by WHO, 80% of fishes and sea creatures in the market are polluted with microplastic. As a result, it transfers to human through consumption. Additionally, the production of modern products usually releases greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and CFC that cause severe damages on the ozone layer of the atmosphere. Hence, higher production lead to higher risk of climate change. As can be seen, there are giant gaps of the ozone layer above industrial areas of China. On the other hand, there are several solutions to tackle this problem. First of all, nowadays, scientists succeeded in developing eco-friendly materials such as chitin and pectin made of organic substances. Therefore, the governments of some countries such as Taiwan encourage people to use this sort of material by reducing the production cost. At the present, there is a dramatic decline in the amount of microplastic contaminated in fish and blood vessel of Taiwanese. Furthermore, the government should limit the number greenhouse gases released into the air by factories. For example, the Canadian government launched a policy to control the amount of greenhouse gases as well as product manufacturing annually. To sum up, although customer goods provide convenience for people, pathway of production and trash are detrimental to the biosphere. Nevertheless, individuals can help to solve this problem by promoting eco-friendly goods and raising the awareness of its impacts on the environment.