Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Whether boys and girls should be taught in mixed schools has been a contentious issue since the creation of the women's rights movement. Some argue that the practice of teaching boys and girls in the same school should be supported, while others refute this. Both sides of this discussion will be analysed in this essay before a valid conclusion is reached. It is believed that in the same camp, the co-educational education of boys and girls bring many benefits. For example, most of the fighters for women's rights argue that the joint instructing men and women improve mutual understanding between the two sexes. This gives members of both sexes the necessary skills that can later be transferred to their personal lives, and as a result they receive a higher degree of marital bliss. Thus, it is obvious why many individuals support the conception of co-education. On the other hand, many believe that the practice of teaching girls and boys is best. For instance, Japan is often mocked for its conservative culture. Despite this, Japan has one of the lowest rates of rape and sexual assault in the world. One of the reasons given for this is gender segregation in educational institutions. Looking at this side of the discussion, you can see the advantages that separate schools for girls and boys receive. Although both sides of this argument have undeniable merits, it is considered that the practice of teaching male and female students in the same school is a positive rather than a negative phenomenon. It is therefore hoped that the trend towards co-education in schools will remain the norm worldwide for the foreseeable future.