Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to the university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, there has been a controversial trend amongst the youngsters of taking a gap year for travelling or working before pursuing tertiary education after they graduate from high schools. As far as I am concerned, despite a few negative effects, there are a plethora of benefits that cannot be overlooked. Some opponents could contend that taking a sabbatical may make students feel left behind because they would graduate and settle their career path later than their peers. In addition, such students may risk losing academic momentum. This is due to the fact that after enjoying a comfortable lifestyle without the examination stress and pressure, gap-year takers often encounter various difficulties to re-adapt to the academic environment. As a result, being unable to comply with strict regulations to meet academic requirements for deadlines, presentations or examinations could negatively affect their academic performance. Hence, the gap year may bring a few obstacles to students' careers. Nevertheless, notwithstanding the aforesaid opinions, I would argue that the prospective advantages of this trend greatly outnumber its drawbacks. First and foremost, practical experiences gained by working make them become mature, responsible, and independent as they would have faced certain challenges while dealing with different tasks, clients, and situations. Furthermore, travelling abroad to expose new environments gives them the opportunity to learn about diverse cultures and to immerse themselves in distinct living conditions. Eventually, their soft skills will be sharpened and they will have a multi-dimensional view when evaluating and tackling not only personal but also social problems. Hence, the gap-year decision can train students to become well-rounded individuals; help them to accumulate valuable and complementary skills to their careers later, such as high adaptability, flexibility, endurance of hardship, time management, and better problem-solving ability. To conclude, under no circumstances, should people underestimate the advantages of taking a gap year before enrolling in colleges. For the reasons stated above, I believe that the positive impacts of this choice outweigh its dark sides.