Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more houses. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside.

Nowadays, the demographic growth has been established a challenge for the governments around the world. One of the main issues is associated with the location of the increasing population, which requires a continuous house´s construction as well as new built areas. On one hand, the idea of built new living areas in the existing cities is plausible. However, it is imperative to consider the problems that could be related to that strategy such as the pollution growth, increase of traffic, reduction of public areas, and crowded public transportation. For example, in Bogotá the city expansion has been develop new issues that the city never had in the past, like the lack of public services or communication problems due to a collapsed network. On the other hand, new towns in the countryside made a huge impact in the environment. Although, it is the only option to some crowded cities; the new human areas require, at least, the basic public services like water, energy, communications and transport. Moreover, each one of this plural of "this" these services requires a superb infrastructure and a significant intervention in the natural areas. For instance, if a new town has 100 houses in a 100.000 square metre area; it would require another 200.000 square metres to establish the service infrastructure. In conclusion, the government that requires a houses expansion should develop a risk evaluation in order to pick the best option for the people and the environment. Furthermore, it is crucial to promote the sanitary population growth control campaign, because it could have benefits in terms of health, nature care, and economics.