Some universities deduct students’ work if the assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

In the recent years, the practice of cutting marks in case of late assignment became popular in the universities. Some people agree with this method while their opponents argue that it is not suitable for all subjects. This essay will discuss these points and provide some alternative methods to achieve preparation of students’ works on time. From one hand, a practice to punish late issue of the student’s papers is suitable. This method helps to improve time management among student, which is a highly rated skill for future careers. For example, as per recent research of recruiters the timely manner of doing job tasks is crucial for the first year graduates. Moreover, these graduates have the biggest salary increase. From the other hand, there are subjects where a depth of research is more important rather than the date of a report presented. Specific calculations can be a good example for these disciplines, when due to an optimization of work result more time can be required for iterations. However, the final date of paper assignment should be agreed and confirmed by faculty teacher. Alternative actions such as promotion of subject conferences or international student internship can be used to motivate and reward students to finish the works as soon as possible with adequate quality. In conclusion, the practice of some universities deducts student’s work in case of late assignment is workable, but it should be calibrated to different disciplines; also the reward method can be efficient to grow up future professionals.