Do you think it is good to push students to study hard in their youth?

One of the typical matters of concern these days is the high expectation for children. It is argued that forcing them to put more efforts in studying while they are young is likely to benefit them later in life. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this view for following reasons. Firstly, it is plausible that students of all ages need to play and unwind after a hard day at school. In particular, they would undergo depression and anxiety due to the high pressures from teachers and parents. Balance between study and relaxation acts as an incentive for teenagers to maintain their interest in studying. If children follow the strict learning schedules, they would become rote learners who lose critical thinking, which in turn is not conducive to their school performance. Secondly, apart from studying, children need to get involved in other activities, such as sport and social events. By doing so, they tend to avoid suffering many illnesses, especially obesity and diabetes. For example, running has been considered as an effective way of staying in shape among the youth, which improves their physical health and reduces stress from the school environment. In conclusion, there is no doubt that making children study hard is critical to their success. However, I firmly believe that parents should help children design their timetables scientifically in case they are fed up with studying.