Write about the following topic. It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is a commonly held belief that it is hard to make children love reading. Although I believe that the main reasons are a waste of time with children on different gadgets, and lack of dedicated time for learning with them, I am convinced that some restrictions should be imposed, and encouragement should be done by parents to tackle this issue. On the one hand, nowadays, many children spend hours watching videos or playing games in their leisure time. To illustrate, most parents give a wide range of modern electronics devices to their children. For instance, mobile phones are very common in the hands of children; therefore, they use it for watching streaming videos on YouTube, and many other channels. Furthermore, currently, as we live in a fast-paced world, parents are working day and night to cope with the high standard of living, which may affect our children's abilities immensely. Take, as an example, reading books are very rare among our new generation, owing to the lack of time of their parents to encourage them to learn to broaden their knowledge. On the other hand, in order to mitigate this issue, specifically possible solutions must be taken. First and foremost, parents ought to control the consumed time using electronic devices. For example, one hour per day is more than enough for children to watch their favourite movies or for playing games. Secondly, I believe that parents should encourage their children by giving them rewards. For instance, from my own experience, if my son read a book every month, I would buy him a movie ticket to motivate him to learn more. In conclusion, despite the main reasons, which are a waste of time on mobile phones, and the limited period of time spent by parents with their children, I think that fixing a time to use these devices and giving children rewards may solve this issue.