Write about the following topic. It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is a commonly held belief that our minds can be developed by the experience gained from travelling. From my perspective, I am an ardent supporter of this statement, and in this essay, I will explain with examples. First and foremost, exchanging cultures with other nations is a major advantage of travelling abroad. The main reason is that each country has its own customs and traditions, which are impacting our personality immensely. For instance, in my personal experience, I travelled to Hong Kong, which has a fantastic custom that local people are offering tourists a free tea to welcome them in small villages. As a result, I influenced by their kindness, and hospitality. Secondly, travelling abroad is a significant way to explore other countries' traditions. This is because those countries offer a wide range of festivals to demonstrate their value. For example, many tourists travel every year to Spain to attend a dancing festival that is conducted every spring session as a celebration by nature, which leads to happiness to them, and mitigate their stress. Furthermore, travelling to foreign countries may enhance language skills dramatically. To illustrate, students could improve their speaking skills by visiting a different country. For example, in my country, Egypt, the majority of secondary schools tend to take their pupils to summer camp abroad, such as the United Kindom to let them gain language skills along with the culture. As a result, those students have shown a remarkable increase in their English language study when they came back to their home country. In conclusion, I support the idea that travelling may extend our understanding of other countries' cultures, brings happiness and improve people's language skills.