In some societies, more and more people choose to live on their own. What are the reasons people choose to do this? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

It is seen in some cultures that there is an increasing trend of people who are opting to stay alone. In my opinion, this is a positive sign as it makes a person responsible and provides independence. It is irrefutable that a person who chooses to live by himself learns to be responsible invariably. This is because there are various house chores that needs to be carried out alone along with routine office work. Thus, this acts as an added responsibility which would be non-existent in case a person lived with his family, where tasks are divided amongst different family members. For example, a person living alone would have to carry all the basic household activities such as cooking, cleaning and paying utility bills on time by himself which definitely makes a person less dependent and a lot more responsible. Additionally, such individuals can choose to do activities without requiring to take permission from others. In other words, it is generally noticed that a person who lives with a family has to take a decision based on the consensus of his family members. For instance, even to call a friend at home, one has to ask his parents. Thus, by staying alone one gets freedom to make choices based on their desires. In conclusion, I see this upsurge of people choosing to stay on their own as a development which has a positive impact as it would make individuals learn to take responsibilities and also they can live on their own terms.