Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do what extent do you agree with this statement?

The way of investment, whether in public aspects or arts aspects is debatable. Whereas many people think that the governments should spend more money in the arts, others believe that public services are the top priority to expend. This essay will demonstrate why the investment in public services is ultimately superior. The main purpose of any government’s measurements is to achieve their people satisfaction. While there is a dramatic growth in population numbers, their demands are increasing too. This leads to an elevation in the government expenditure for services and activities which reflects to citizens. If any government preferred to reallocate budgets to any sector rather than to the real issues that presses the ordinary people, there would be high levels of opposition and dissatisfaction. Therefore, prioritizing the expenses towards public services, which affects directly to the whole people, is an imperative. On the other hand, investment in arts activities despite of people’s actual needs is a less practical solution. If you expand in building theatres and cinemas while the majority of your citizens are struggling in their life, these activities will be in a tremendous failure, because people cannot afford to attend in these events. However, if the government meets their peoples' expectations, providing strong infrastructure and public services, their people will be prosperous and happy. Thus, they will pursue the happiness and entertainment, and they will be engaged in all of arts activities. Then, the government’s expenditure in these activities will be justified and acceptable there. In conclusion, investing in the arts is important, but when the peoples’ standard of living is high. Otherwise, the reallocation of all these investments should be in sake of peoples’ interest and for the actual benefits that are associated with daily life.