Write about the following topic. It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent decades, work -life balance has become a debatable issue. It is argued that the greatest people in history have not followed this notion. I personally believe that people should try their best to achieve an ideal work -life balance because of the importance of enjoying our lives and avoiding negative impacts of modern life on our health. This essay will discuss these points of view briefly. To begin with, it is crucial to enjoy our lives because we only get one life to live. By being dedicated to working, people miss important events in their family lives, such as children's birthdays, school parties and other essential moments. While work tasks and duties continue to increase, these affect personal lives in a negative way. Moreover, employees tend to work longer hours to achieve their company goals. It should be acknowledged that a recently published report by IMF showed that 70% of EU workers stay late at their work places on a daily basis to finish their work. Therefore, it is clear that working for long hours may cause marked impairment of social lives. Furthermore, a heavy workload leads to stress, and multiple medical problems. To illustrate, a marked increase in the incidence of lifestyle diseases, such as high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke and depression have noted. For instance, a recently published report in the Guardian newspaper stated that the incidence of stroke has increased 4 folds amongst employees in the last ten years in companies compared with farmers. As a consequence, the imbalance between work and life may cause a negative impact on workers. In conclusion, although dedication to work is a preferred trait, I believe that life- work balance should be maintained to avoid medical problems and to enjoy our lives.