In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadaysthan in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that there is an increasing tendency for people to have a single life compared with the past. Personally, I believe that living alone can be both positive and negative. On the one hand, there are some benefits for people living alone, where the primary advantage is the reduction in household expenses. It means that it is unnecessary for a single person to support the whole family's consumption, which usually includes the costs of baby care, children's education and so on. Secondly, living alone is conducive to fostering a sense of independence in young people because they are supposed to complete things without help from others. For example, there are usually some household chores, such as doing the laundry and cleaning the house. Therefore, people choosing to live alone can benefit from lower life stress as well as personal growth. On the other hand, people living alone will lead to negative impacts from both personal and social perspectives. From a personal aspect, those people are more likely to undergo psychological illness since they lack sufficient daily interaction with people and opportunities to share their feelings with friends. In terms of social aspects, an increase in the percentage of those people probably results in uncertainty in society. This is because they tend to rent a flat or house, which contributes to the higher frequency of changing their address and difficulties of security regulation. In conclusion, while this development of increasing the percentage of living alone has various benefits, I hold the view that there exists a great deal of negative influence as well.