Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Illiteracy is a major problem faced by many countries today. Even though the human race has made significant advancements in the field of education, there are still many who cannot read and write. This situation is the root cause of many problems, however, there are also few possible solutions, which can be adopted by the government. This essay will discuss the main problems caused by illiteracy and also the measures to be taken. Firstly, even though high level education is not for all, basic level learning is necessary for smooth functioning in daily routine. To put it differently, since the evolution of the economy has led to the greater organisation of records and data, basic learning to understand these, has become inevitable. For instance, although government always provides help to uneducated people on legal and financial matters, none of the official documents related to these, should be signed without going through them. Secondly, these people tend to benefit least from government schemes. Whereas, the different policies aim at the well-being of all members of the society, illiterate people remain mostly unaware of these. For instance, Indian government publishes about its policies in newspapers, hence, illiterate people remain ignorant of these. Thus, resulting in legal and economic drawbacks. Furthermore, there are many solutions that the authorities can adopt to deal with these problems. First of all, authority should encourage its population to gain at least a primary schooling. Although schooling is free in many countries, some incentives to make it popular are necessary. For an illustration, mid day meal program in India led to increases in school enrolments. Lastly, increasing awareness about different policies using a variety of media tools is the key to the betterment of these people. For instance, broadcasting information over radios and television makes it more widespread. Consequently, making the rewards and awareness the two keys for these problems. To conclude, literacy is indispensable for collective good of the individual and the society as a whole; lack of it make both suffer, legally as well as economically, so the authorities should try to promote it, using incentives and mass media.