it is sometimes thought that people who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree?

There is an opinion that those who go abroad are broad-minded and compassionate. I partly agree with this point of view; however, I think that the main role in a person’s attitude plays their upbringing. First, it is true that travelling and interaction with a foreign culture broaden a person’s horizon and they naturally became more tolerant and understanding. Thus, when we are getting in touch with another culture and traditions, we are looking at ordinary things from a different angle. As a result, our perception of certain things can be changed. Especially, when an individual comes to the conclusion that other people may grow up in a distinct environment and may have a unique outlook on life. For example, I have been to India and this travel influenced me significantly. In fact, I even changed my attitude toward an arranged marriage. However, it possible to make an opposite case because there are people who are judgmental from the begging and it seems nothing is possible to change their outlook on life. That is the reason why I believe that parenting is more important. In my opinion, our parents and teachers should teach children that a variety of cultures as well as our differences are good and have the right to exist. In addition, some things have a variety of solutions and there is no only one way to live our lives. In conclusion, I somehow agree with the idea that travelling to foreign countries makes people more liberal and patient. On balance, however, I reckon that personal upbringing is even more important because if a child was born in a racist environment, they would have biased beliefs despite communication with other nationalities.