In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Purchasing used clothes has become a trend recently among millennials and generation Z. This tendency is due to lack of sufficient income among youngsters to buy various clothes and it is a positive improvement as less consumerism help saving the environment. The main reason behind increased popularity of resale fashion is that younger people do not have lucrative jobs which can fulfil their desires. They like to frequently change their wardrobe, but, high price tag of apparels does not let them to accomplish this wish. Hence, they rather to buy pre-used clothes as they can pay less money to own their favorite outfit. A survey conducted by the Medium, American fashion and marketing magazine, illustrated that 48% of Millennials and generation Z in the U.S. are now purchasing from resale stores due to the lower rates they have to pay for their favorite brands’ products. This essay believes that this trend is a positive progress as it aids protecting the nature and environment by not exhausting raw materials. When people tend to buy more pre-used clothes, the need to produce new ones become less. This phenomenon is similar to recycling. Production of garments requires using chemical, water and electricity in great amounts, which is a direct consumption of natural resources. A report in BBC stated that sustainable fashion, which refers to reusing old garments, can highly impact usage of natural resources and save the wildlife as the result. In conclusion, more young people are choosing to buy second-hand clothes due to shortage of money, and this has a positive impact on the environment by reducing the demand of manufacturing new garments.