Start Time: 12: 13 End Time: 12:53 In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Newspapers and news from the television could be traced as far back as the 16th century, long before the invention of the internet. Although the older generations have continued with this trend. Nevertheless, this is not so popular among the teeming youths. What leads to this disinterest from the younger ones and the possible ways of abating it will be evaluated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, one of the major reasons for this lack of interest in the printed material is technological advancement. Nonetheless, one may think it is lack of enthusiasm from these lads on the happenings around their environment, but this is not so. Technology has brought the world in our palms and these young people are taking advantage of it to explore the universe. Furthermore, with a mobile phone these days you can easily get access to any information around him without necessarily turning on the television. For example, a popular newspaper in my region is a vanguard, even so, they now have a website you can log in and get all the latest occurrence for the day and beyond. On the other hand, some of these older means of being up to date with the environment have remained in its archaic form without much changes to attract attention. Most of the printing press has retained its old fashioned way of scribbling headlines in a black and white colour and thus doesn't appear attractive. Notwithstanding, if they can effect a change in such method of writing, at least adding latest colours, pictures and edifying artwork, it will really help to allure these lads to patronage. For instance, including images of footballers such as Lionel Messi and Ronaldo in these newspapers as they pass the information will greatly be catchy. In conclusion, I personally do not feel it is a big deal if a person decides to snub the earlier forms of announcement for latest means as long as the desired data is obtained in other ways, additionally time and seasons continue to change and new generations should be left to make choices in a desired culture.