The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

Gone are the days, when technological advancements in libraries were eminent among a few people. In the contemporary era, owing to globalization and modernization, digital content and technological facilities have become ubiquitous and renowned. It is irrefutable that this has an indispensable role to play in human’s life, in influencing it numerous ways. In this piece of writing, I strongly disagree that these amenities are a waste of resources and space. To embark on, there are finite numbers of supporting points that can be interpreted. The first and the foremost one is that libraries with modern facilities are far more useful to readers as well as it allows a librarian to manage it in more organized way fashion. Thus, implement of library management software help in minimizing the cost also, as the library barely needs many staff members. In addition to this, Multimedia resources offer readers a dynamic combination of sound, images, video and virtual tour. To cite an example, listening to a famous historical speech and having a virtual tour is far more interactive and exciting than just reading books. Strengthening my notion further, I would like to assert that digital libraries are favourable for the economic and social prosperity because it lends a helping hand in raising the overall standard of any nation as it attracts young generations. Besides, it takes great effort to protect books from moisture, fire and human damage, whereas digital contents can easily be copied and preserved for as many years as we want. Consequently, it can save money and space rather than wasting it. To reiterate, after having a great deal of discussion and deliberation on this topic on my own, I arrive at a decision that the transformation of public libraries has made them more beneficial to readers and researchers. It is expected that traditional libraries would include digital and modern facilities to enhance human knowledge and experience.