Many teenagers now have their smart phones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion?

Sophisticated telephone gadgets are presently being owned by many young adults. This essay will discuss that it is a veritable tool for their parents to monitor these children while away from home and despite this advantage, it can prevent them from paying proper attention to their academic activities which will be useful for their future. One of the advantages of teenagers possessing new or modern telephones such as Phone and Samsung are particularly for their parents to make sure they are safe even though they are not around. These mobile phones are sometimes bought by their parents or given to them as a gift which will in turn be utilised for tracking them because of the security situation around the world today. For example, a research was carried out by the University of London on the number of students handling modern communication gadgets and it was shocking to discover that 75% of the high school students used mobile phones to keep in touch with their parents. As a result, there was a drastic reduction in cases of missing students reported that year because most of them were being tracked by their parents or guardians. Despite this advantage, the fact that the usage of electronic devices in university will debar them from concentrating fully on their academic work cannot be overemphasised. Nevertheless, the major drawback for young adults using mobile telephones is the distraction from getting academic excellence. This happens because most of the time they would have spent on their studies is being wasted playing games and chatting with online friends they will never meet. For instance, according to an educational research carried out by UNESCO last year discovered that there was a 20% decrease in the performance of high school students, which was mostly attributed to the increase in the use of mobile technology. Consequently, as the mobile users increases due to high school students that joined the pool of customers, there is a gradual decline of students' performance. This means that paying full attention to class work and class activities is very important for their future than keeping abreast with what is going on in social media. In conclusion, while teenagers using mobile could be tracked by their parents when they are miles away from them, the dangers of being distracted from gaining excellent knowledge and understanding that will be beneficial for their future is looming.