Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

The global phenomenon of urbanisation since the beginning of industrialisation to the present day has brought opportunity and prosperity, albeit at a cost in the quality of life. With an increasing urban population, the complexity of the challenges increases too, the causes and solutions for this are outlined below. On the one hand, the causes for the decrease in the quality of life are paradoxically the prosperity endowed on these metropolitan centres. Their growth is largely due to the increase of opportunities on offer, which in turn increases their attractiveness, essentially they are trapped in a positive self-reinforcing cycle. However, it eventually leads to a decrease in the quality of life at the centre can experience overcrowding, exorbitant property prices, and increased vulnerability to terrorist attacks. For instance, the density of London makes it a more efficient place to attack, when compared to a smaller town such as Bradford. Therefore, due to continuous growth and prosperity, urban citizens, especially the less well off, often experience a lower standard of living. Furthermore, considering the solutions, greater investment in public transport would ease traffic congestion, as would bike lanes. In theory, it would reduce air pollution, and possibly improve the wellbeing of the population if they did adopt a more active lifestyle and cycle to work. Additionally, to counter violent terrorist attacks, cities could embark on CCTV installations, so as to closely monitor for threats. For example, it is said, the CCTV in London has foiled many potential attacks, and greatly increased the security of its citizens. To conclude, a wealthy metropolitan attracts a large population inflow, which now causes pressure on existing infrastructure and security. Various solutions exist to mitigate these drawbacks, nevertheless an indefinite solution has yet to be found.