Doctors in many countries say that people are not getting enough physical exercise these days. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this?

Nowadays, a low physical activity level is a common problem all over the world; it leads to different diseases, and doctors claim that such issues should be resolved in order to have a healthy society. Mostly, people do not spend time actively because there are not enough areas in big cities for running or walking; therefore, people prefer to spend their leisure time at home. To solve this issue, the government should promote a healthy lifestyle and make it appealing to their citizens. Because of long commuting times, people are less motivated to spend time exercising. For the most part, they come home after work and have no reasons to go somewhere from their houses; it is more comfortable to stay at home rather than spend about two hours driving to the nearest gym or park if they want to run. Cities are not convenient for an active lifestyle, and usually city builders do not plan any infrastructure for sport activities. It leads to a low activity level among citizens and a growing number of diseases connected to it. As people are not proactive, the government should promote an active lifestyle among them. There are several ways how doing that, but the most simple is to create more recreational areas and sports facilities. When people have alternatives on how to spend their time, they choose the healthiest one; therefore, cities that have enough public places to play sport or walk show lower rates of health issues caused by a low physical activity. For example, the number of people exercising and playing sports in Dnipro has increased significantly when local authorities built several sport areas in the city. It shows a connection between a number of sports facilities available and people’s activity. To sum up, the world’s population is under the threat of diseases caused by a low physical activity level. Local authorities should address this issue and create more recreational places to promote exercise and sports.