All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the modern society, schooling has become a significant necessity for the growth of the future generation. The controversy has been raised over what schools should be included in classes. Some people believe that skills should be taught at school and some believe that different subjects should be brought out by the school. In my opinion, providing numerous of subjects for children is more appealing. On the one hand, people suggested that skills teaching is much more important for children in Hong Kong who are famous for being over-dependent, rely heavily on their parents or the domestic helpers and cannot even tie the shoe laces themselves. Therefore, it is necessary for the school to teach the children in the daily necessary skills. For instance, personal hygiene, basic cookery and tiding skills. So that our future generation could take good care of themselves and lessen the over-dependence habit. On the other hand, some believe that providing numerous of subjects are beneficial for children in the long runs. It is generally thought that, though learning different knowledge, children could explore their interest and with the wide range of knowledge, it could equip the children in their further studies and career. Because with the advanced knowledge, they could end up becoming a specialist and taking up a high promotion position in the future since both require a high academic level. In conclusion, some people believe that schools should teach children in practical skills so that they could learn to take care of themselves while others believe that learning different subjects is more important as it is important for their further study and career development. In my opinion, I believe that by learning different subjects, children could have a brighter future.