Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in the neighbourhood, this should be this should be the residents responsibility, while others think it should be the government's duty. What is your opinion.

As urban population soars, an increase in rubbish and littering tends to follow. To avoid the deterioration of city streets. Some argue that it is the government that should be taking care of this, whereas others feel that local people need to take responsibility. From my perspective, while I agree that the authorities do need to enforce certain rules and provide facilities, ultimately it is resident who have to regulate and maintain their neighbourhood. In order for streets to be kept tidy, the government must maintain a system of rubbish collection and cleaning. For instance, in my suburb Mentone, the council collects household waste every week, and there are also cleaners who tend to clean and maintain public spaces and parks every two days. Without these regular activities, the streets would quickly descend into chaos with overflowing bins, blocked drains and dirty sidewalks. As a tax payer, it is reasonable to expect authorities, to whom we pay our taxes must have to play some role in the upkeep of the surroundings. It is also, however, vital that the local themselves participate in this, if they do not put their waste in the right place, then the council system, regardless how rigorously they are, would not be effective. Residents can also do simple things like clean up after their dogs, put their garbage in bins and maintain the area around their property. Thus, when everyone participates, the job of keeping the street cleaning is manageable. To sum up, teamwork is essential to maintain a clean society. However, policies and system need to be implemented which could not only bound residents need to put the household litters in the bins, but also be proactive in the upkeep of the area.