Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

At times, employers require the perspective employees to provide additional, non-professionally related data, which can include extra-curricular activities or marital status. While this trend is deemed essential by some, it is disagreed upon by others; in my opinion, the benefits of such information outweigh any negativity associated with it. On the one hand, according to some, personal preferences ought to be kept private as it can lead to bias and discrimination during the hiring. For instance, many married, female medical practitioners report they were filtered through during the hiring process in hospitals, as employees automatically presumed them unsuitable or unavailable for night-shifts or working around the clock in emergency crisis, due to their marital commitments. In other words, a mere discrimination that can be a product of unnecessary extra data available to the employers. Nonetheless, this information can be of vital asset to both an organisation and the prospective job seeker. To begin with, the corporation can appoint right tasks and opportunities to their staff if they have an insight of their interests and hobbies, whereas it would not be possible if these details were kept confidential. To illustrate, if someone is an enthusiastic traveller with good communication skills, the firm could send such people to subsidiary companies abroad or to other work-related travels where not only they will deliver efficient results but will also do it with passion. Furthermore, the extra personal data can make the management more considerate towards staffs’ circumstances. For example, at times the managers would delegate tasks that require staff’s presence at weekend to those without family commitments; thus being mindlessly towards those with extra responsibilities. In conclusion, although I believe the although the availability of personnel’s personal information can lead to bias, the positive impacts associated with employer’s awareness of a staff’s hobby and interests outweighs any negligible disadvantage.