Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people. Why might this be the case? What problems might it cause?

Each generation has its own stars and fashion icons. The young often look up to these people and like to imitate their style. This essay will consider the reasons for this and the problems it may cause. There are several reasons why young people aspire to be like the popular stars of their days. Firstly, this tends to happen when children are developing into young adults and becoming more aware of their identity. Some have an innate sense of their own style, but it takes most young people years to develop this same confidence. Until then, they need to fit in is very strong, and so it is not surprising that they should copy the stars that they, and all of their friends, look up to. It is also possible that teenagers want to be different to their parents. Therefore, copying the famous may be a way for young people to conform as well as to rebel. Nevertheless, this phenomenon can create problems. The famous like to stand out, and their fashion choices can be unorthodox. Attempting to copy this could cause conflict in the home, especially if the young people concerned come from a very conservative background. In addition, the famous now tend to be very active on social media, and many youngsters document their daily life and activities. If these celebrities make poor choices, this may mean that young people are encouraged to copy the unhealthy behaviour, such as smoking, or following an extreme diet. Thus, the celebrities in question may not be the best of role models. In conclusion, wanting to be like their heroes is a normal part of development, and may help teens establish their own identity. Although it can sometimes be cause conflict, thankfully it is something that they eventually grow out of.