In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that the vast gap between citizen’s wage may cause detrimental impacts to the society, whereas the others advocate this situation due to its positive outcomes. This essay would discuss about the statements and reflect my own point of view. On the one hand, there several reasons why people support the difference in salaries of employees. The first reason for this trend is that the pay scheme of a company should be based on the merits that the worker contributes to his team and department. For example, a team leader in a technology project needs not only savvy programming skills, but also excellent project management skills in order to manoeuvre his team to the final impeccable product. Therefore, he should be paid higher than those who only focus on the smaller scope of work. In addition, by spending far more working hours mentally than his fellows, a lucrative income is the compensation he deserves to receive in return. On the other hand, those who believe the income gap should be regulated can justify their arguments with the following reasons. First and foremost, in certain countries, employers are paying based on the gender of their employees, given that they are responsible for the same responsibility and identical qualifications. For instance, an article in a local paper of my city reported that, twenty three percent of female white-collar workers in the city are earning lower paid than their male counterparts at the same position. The first reason links to the second one. The discrimination of sex, nationality and skin colour via salaries may undermine the social equality in our society as a whole, which will eventually ruin the civilized world we have been striving to foster for decades. In a nutshell, although a majority of people believe that policymakers should impose restriction about the income gap between employees, I would argue that people should earn their money based on their talent and competency.