Social Media websites have amassed large user bases. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Although there are many websites across the internet, social media sites have gained huge user bases.Despite they are used majorly to connect with different people, cyber crimes are increasing day by day. In my opinion, social media usage is more disadvantageous when compared to the advantages. To commence, the greatest benefit of social media is to connect and follow different individuals across the world. It provides the opportunity to grow friendships with various humans across the globe. For example, Facebook is the networking site used to chat and talk to different users by making peers. Moreover, these websites can also be used as job searching platforms while following professionals. For instance, Linkedin is the leading platform used for hiring professionals looking into their profiles. While websites like Twitter could be utilized as a platform to follow their favourite celebrities whom they admire the most. However, there are many disadvantages in using the social platforms. The main drawback is the number of cases related to cyber crimes are rapidly growing. To illustrate, certain sites ask for money to link with their existing customers. Once the money is paid, they don't get any benefit from these websites. Hence, domains like these are violating the rules by cheating people financially and emotionally. Some people are committing suicides are realising that they are betrayed which in turn leading to social unrest among various humans. To conclude, though the user bases pertaining to social media are growing, people are suffering due to internet crimes. In my opinion, the downsides are more than the benefits in particular.